The only constant and all that…

changes

I recently found out that the contract job I’ve been working for the last year just ended and they do not have the budget to either renew it or hire me permanently. Which is sad because I like my job and love my supervisor, and feel like this job has been a huge step in helping me recover from the damage done by the shitty, stressful jobs I’ve had previously. But I’m also starting to re-frame it as an opportunity to find something even better, a process that has been greatly helped by seeing similar positions that have better schedules and higher pay and are in companies that are doing really exciting awesome things. I’m waiting to hear back from my recruiter about one that seems pretty ideal and trying to balance not getting my hopes up too much while also allowing myself to be excited and let that energy carry me forward in wrapping things up with my current place. In the meantime, I’m taking a lot of deep breaths and trying not to refresh my email *too* compulsively.

It does feel great to realize that even with the job upheaval, I’m still feeling stable enough everywhere else that I can keep working on long term plans. I’ve been thinking about housing a lot. I have a fantastic short-to-medium term situation now, sharing a gorgeous condo with a friend who has been pretty easy to live with. And I’m plotting with my once and future roommate to find another place together within the next year or two, depending on where life takes us between now and then. And daydreaming about our future WitchHaus is still one of my favorite pastimes. I really should set up a pinterest board or something to capture it all.

So yeah, that’s where I’m at right now. I may do a more comprehensive State of the Aimee post closer to my birthday, but overall things are going in new and interesting and mostly the right directions.

Leave a comment